Healthy Breakfast Cookies

Healthy Breakfast Cookie RecipeLet me start off by saying I’m not a baker. At all. A few years ago I went through a phase during which I REALLY wanted to be good at baking (not sure why — maybe to prove my domestic awesomeness?). But I’m past all that now. I’ve accepted that I’m just not destined to be baker, and I’m cool with that because I don’t even like it.

I’m not a fan of baking for two reasons. First, baked goods in general aren’t good for you so I just feel guilty about eating whatever I make. Second, I hate being super precise with my measurements and then sticking my masterpiece in the oven and praying to the baking gods it all works out. I’d rather just go to Whole Foods or Cupcake Royale and get a single cupcake.

But I digress.

I recently stumbled on a recipe for breakfast cookies on a new-to-me blog, Skinny Taste. Normally I wouldn’t be interested in a recipe with “cookie” in the title, but I quickly learned the recipe only calls for three ingredients: Banana, oats and chocolate chips. Three ingredients? Healthy? Very few measurements? Sign me up!

I subbed out the chocolate chips with peanut butter and pecan pieces. Gina, the author of Skinny Taste, says they taste better right of the oven. I completely agree with her, but I also thought they tasted fine the next day (I stored them in a Tupperware container). But given my lack of baking skills, I’m not super picky about these types of things.

They have a soft texture and taste a lot like banana bread. I made these one morning before a run and split them with John. He gobbled his up and without any “How do they taste?” probing from me said, “Hey, these are really good!” If my picky eater of a husband likes them, they must be good!

Ingredients:

1 cup old fashioned oats
2 very ripe bananas
2 TB natural peanut butter
2 TB pecan pieces (optional but highly recommended)

Other optional add-ins: Ground flaxseed (I added 2 TB), Chia seeds (I added approximately 1 TB), mixed nuts, dried fruit, chocolate chips.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray cookie sheet with cooking spray.

In a medium-size bowl, mash the two bananas. To this, add the peanut butter, oats and optional add-ins. Once the ingredients are combined, scoop out 1-2 TB of dough on cookie sheet (original recipe calls for 1 TB to make 16 cookies, but I did 2 TB to make 9).

Bake for 15 minutes. Enjoy!

p.s. I highly recommend checking out Skinny Taste. She’s got lots of healthy, simple recipes.

p.p.s. I need to work on my food photography.

2 thoughts on “Healthy Breakfast Cookies

Leave a Reply

