The Time I Ran 20 Miles on a Treadmill (and Training Recap)

Last Sunday I did something new: I ran 20 miles on the treadmill.

The weather was gross all weekend, and I wasn’t in the mood for a soggy run. I had run 18 miles in the rain the weekend before and didn’t have the heart to do it again.

So I packed some GUs, Nuun and pretzels, charged my iPod, and hit the gym. Aside from miles 14-18 (when I REALLY wanted to walk but forced myself to power though), the run surprisingly wasn’t too bad. By the end, I was a sweaty, stinky mess (with chaffing ALL OVER my body), but I was proud of myself for making it through 3 hours, 9 minutes and 10 seconds of running on the treadmill.

I don’t want to make a habit of doing my long runs on the treadmill, but it’s nice to have that option.

In my previous post, I said that I’m going to switch to strictly running three days a week with two days of cross-training. Well, I’ve been cheating and doing a fourth day of running. Moving forward, my plan is to continue to pay attention to my body and alternate between three and four days of running a week based on how I’m feeling.

Here’s how the last two weeks looked:

Week 5:
Monday: Rest
Tuesday:1.25 hour yoga + first speed session in 7 weeks. 5 miles: 6×400 (7:47) + 1,600 (8:00). Quite a bit slower than I was this summer, but I’m hopeful my legs will remember how to turn over!
Wednesday: 1 hour spin
Thursday: Slightly disastrous tempo run. 6.1 miles in 56:56 + 1 hour yoga
Friday: 1 hour yoga
Saturday: 1 hour yoga + easy 4.4 miles (45 minutes)
Sunday: 18 very wet miles. 2:56:50 (9:50 avg)

Total: 33.5 miles + 4.25 hours yoga

Week 6
Monday
: 1 hour yoga
Tuesday: Speed session. 2×1,200 (7:55,7:45) + 4×800 (7:47, 7:41, 7:41, 7:41). 6 miles total. Big improvement from the week before!
Wednesday: 1 hour spin + 1.25 hours yoga
Thursday: 8 mile tempo run (1:13) with five miles at mid tempo pace (8:34, 8:34, 8:27, 8:27, 8:20).
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 3.5 easy miles (37) +1 hour yoga
Sunday: 20 miles (3:09:10). 9:28 avg.

Total: 37.5 miles + 3.25 hours yoga

Hope you’re having a great weekend! It’s sunny and beautiful in Seattle!

2 thoughts on “The Time I Ran 20 Miles on a Treadmill (and Training Recap)

  1. Good job, Megan! I had another small victory today. My cold has entirely left, and I spent far too long in front of the TV. Finally, disgusted with how pathetic I felt, I made it to the gym and got a strong Speed Session in, and two miles at marathon pace. Once again, I felt so much better after just sucking it up and doing it. Lesson learned–again. We’re moving in the right direction.

  2. Correction: my cold has NOT entirely left! But I’ve been able to train around it, without losing any fitness. I’m going to be FAST when I get 100% healthy! I’m looking forward to doing a LONG run with you next week-end.

Leave a Reply

