Eugene Marathon Training: Week 14

Week 14 was a week of firsts.

I ran a total of 51 miles, which is the most I’ve ever run in a week.

For the first time in my nearly 28 years of life, a bird pooped on me. Thankfully it was while I was running and I was wearing a hat, so it wasn’t a big deal. Just kinda funny.

photo 1

On Saturday, Christina and I hit the trails for a 17-mile run. Christina has run a bunch of halfs, but she’s training for her first full marathon, and this was her longest run ever. Another first!

John and I also celebrated our fifth anniversary on Saturday by enjoying a special dinner at Canlis.

photo 2

Canlis is an iconic Seattle restaurant (and was on the last season of Top Chef!) and totally lives up to its reputation. The food and the service were both superb. Everything was so beautiful and so so good — well worth the money and the extra calories. While we were waiting for our dessert, Russell Wilson and his family were seated at a table 15 feet from ours. First time at Canlis and first legit celebrity sighting!

photo 3

Before I go into my week recap, I would like to point out that it’s April, which means it’s officially marathon month! So excited!

Here’s how the week looked:

Monday: Rest
Tuesday: 9 miles tempo on treadmill. 2 mile warm up + 1 mile (8:57), 1 mile (8:49), 1 miles (8:41), 3 miles (8:13 pace) 1 mile cooldown (8:57).
Wednesday: 1 hour hatha yoga + 11 miles in 1:40:02.
Thursday: Rest/self-defense class. I learned how to ear slap and kick guys in the balls.
Friday: 1 hour yoga + slow easy 6 in 1:03
Saturday: 17 miles trails (3:16:32)
Sunday: 8 miles slow around Discovery park (1:32)

Totals:

51 miles + 2 hours yoga

 

Leave a Reply

