Honeywagon Half Marathon Goals

I know I still need to post about weeks 7-9, but first I want to talk about the Honeywagon Half Marathon, which is tomorrow.

Having run this race the last two years, it has become a staple in my spring marathon training program. It serves as a well-needed reality check, a gauge of how training is progressing. Have I gotten faster? Slower? Am I where I should be at this point in training?

This is where I ran my first sub 2-hour half marathon, and I also PR’d last year. I’m a little sentimental about certain races, and this race holds a special place in my running heart.

Yay! We made it!

Two years ago after finishing my first sub 2-hour half marathon. p.s. my dad has worn that shirt in all four of our marathons together. I hope he wears it in Eugene. 🙂

So what are my goals this year? After a little thought, I’ve decided I’m not going to write any specific plans or time goals for the race. Instead, I’m going to run based on feel. If I feel good, I’m gonna go for it and see what I can do. If I don’t feel so good, I’m going to adjust my goals. My goal is to be more like my friend Christina. She isn’t a total pacing psycho and doesn’t obsess over her mile splits like I do — she just runs. Plain and simple.

With 16 MPH winds, the weather report isn’t super promising. But I’m going to do my best to stay positive and run as hard as I can, which hopefully will lead to a new PR. My half marathon PR is over six months old, and I’m ready for a new one!

Screen Shot 2013-03-01 at 3.55.31 PM

2 thoughts on “Honeywagon Half Marathon Goals

Leave a Reply

