Eugene Marathon Training and Life Update

“Marathon training is a microcosm of life. In a very tangible way, it presents us with the challenges and the joys, the monotony and the adventure, the loneliness and the camaraderie, the failure and the triumph, of life. We love the sport. And we hate it. It breaks us down and lifts us up. It prompts us to respond to a never-ending succession of circumstances and trials. It is humanity concentrated into mere hours, simultaneously revealing our character and growing it. In exposing our weaknesses, it increases our strength. We are not the same for having run. We cannot be.”

-One of my favorite passages in The Lola Papers.

I was brutally reminded in the last few weeks that training for a marathon is hard. While the Type-A Obsessive Planner in me cringes when I have to move runs around or just completely miss key runs, that’s how it is. No matter how wonderful my perfect Excel training schedule is, I’m a fool if I think it will go perfectly according to plan for 18 weeks.

For the sake of transparency: my plan has gone to total crap in the last two weeks.

You know what else has gone to crap? Life. That’s a tad dramatic, but it’s been a tough few weeks in the Rudolph/Knox household.

During week 7, John and I were thrown a little b*tch of a curve ball. On Thursday, Feb. 7,  we learned that the property management company we hired to manage renting our condo had, without notice, closed down. The company apparently has been in debt for a while and the owner has been stealing money from her clients (like us). As of now, the company owes us over $5,000.

John and I (who am I kidding? John has done most of the work) have spent the last week and a half working with lawyers, the property manager who rented our condo and was fired from the company, a new property management company, and our  know-it-all tenants. The situation is a mess, and I’m sick of starting sentences with “so…we hired a property management company to rent our condo. It has gone out of business and owes us $5,000.”

It’s a shitty situation (I try not to swear on my blog, but sometimes you gotta do it), and we’re still working to get it resolved. And rather than deal with my stress in a healthy way (running), I’ve been dealing with it in the form of carbs and cheese. And anything else I can get my grubby hands on. I’m embarrassed to admit that, but it’s the truth.

Three days into dealing with the property management situation, my car was towed. Yep, life sure likes to throw rocks at you when you’re down. The worst part about my car getting towed is that it was 100% my fault. UGH.

To top it all off, toward the end of week 7 I started developing shin spins, and the inside of my ankle bone and the ligament were tight, painful to the touch, and hurt while I ran.

I refuse to run through pain/early injuries. I’m a wuss, and I just won’t do it. So I took five days off from running in week 8, making most of my precious plan go un-run.

Needless to say, I’ve been feeling pretty defeated, both in life and in marathon training.

But I’m done feeling defeated. I’m done eating my feelings (you don’t even want to know how many quesadilas and oatmeal cookies I’ve eaten in the last week). I’m done pretending I don’t really care about Eugene. Because I know that isn’t true. I’ve been excited about this marathon for over six months. Dozens of times I’ve visualized myself coming onto Hayward field with 200 meters to go and 3:xx on the clock. I get emotional just thinking about how awesome the race is going to be and how amazing it’s going to feel to set a new PR.

So although I don’t have much control over the property management situation, I DO have control over my running. And I DO have control over not getting my car towed and ticketed again…

I’m done feeling sorry for myself, and I’m committed to staying positive and healthy, and doing everything in my power to make sure April 28 is a fantastic day. More updates about training weeks 7-9 are coming soon!

2 thoughts on “Eugene Marathon Training and Life Update

  1. Very well written, Megan. It is honest, simple and true. No excuses. No embellishments. It inspires me to see you respond to these challenges. The temptation to quit is never far away. Life is hard. Training for a marathon is hard. But the hardest thing of all is living with the feeling that you haven’t done your best, haven’t tried your hardest, haven’t given yourself the chance to excel. The pain of a marathon is nothing compared to the pain of an unlived life. And believe me: these words are directed at me. This isn’t a lecture. I need to write these words so that I can be reminded of all that remains to be experienced in this life. I need to write these words–and I need to run these silly runs with you–so that I can be surprised and encouraged by the power and the wisdom that flows through us when we just offer our intentions to the blank page and the open road.

    Hooyah, Instructor Megan!

  2. Megan, you inspire me! I do firmly believe that staying positive, expecting the best, aligns one’s being with the positive energy of the universe.

Leave a Reply

