January 2013 Recap and February 2013 Goals

Now that I’ve transitioned from my old-fashioned paper training journal to an Excel spreadsheet, it is much easier to track my running data. AutoSUM FTW!

I’m very happy with how January went, logging 142 miles and 14.25 hours of yoga. Not too shabby for my first month of training!

Aside from my one missed 8 mile run (which I’m done mourning, I pinky promise), I’m happy with how consistent my training has been and look forward to the rest of this training cycle.

Here are my goals for February:

1. Hit my paces for tempo runs. Tempo runs have always been my most challenging training runs. I can handle the discomfort of speed intervals; for a few minutes I’m out of breath and feel like I may throw up, but then I get a few minutes of rest to recover from the unpleasant “omg I can’t breathe and want to barf” sensation. Repeat this a few times until I’m done.

During tempo runs, on the other hand, I’m moderately uncomfortable for 30+ minutes straight. I find the prolonged discomfort to be mentally and physically challenging. Tempo runs are critical to getting faster, so I need to do a better job of hitting my goal paces.

2. Go to bed by 10pm every work night. This is something I’ve been struggling with (but I HAVE to see what house this annoying couple buys — John and I are obsessed with HGTV and have been watching a ton of House Hunters and similar shows), but sleep is more important. Duh.

3. 12+ hours of yoga.

4. No candy. I might be probably am setting myself up for failure on this one (because I freakin’ LOVE candy), but I’ve been eating a little too much lately, and I’ve got a wedding dress to fit into this summer.

p.s. If you missed my recap of week 5 (I included a sweet picture of Britney Spears, which is quite hilarious), you can read it here.

Happy Friday!

One thought on “January 2013 Recap and February 2013 Goals

Leave a Reply

