Eugene Marathon Training: Week One

Like most training cycles, my first week went great. I hit my paces for all three key runs and was happy with how the week went. After weeks of struggling to hold what should be an easy pace, I am starting to get my groove back and it feels nice to see some positive progress.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I impulsively registered for the Lake Samish Half Marathon, which is this Sunday. For the last two weeks I’ve been thinking about not running it. Waking up super early Sunday morning to drive up to Bellingham and run a race just to run it (I’m nowhere near PR or even close to PR half marathon shape) seems silly. Also, I want to focus this week on training hard and don’t want to worry about resting up for the race.

I thought about this race a lot during my great long run on Sunday. My stride felt natural and I finally felt like a runner again; even still, I decided that running a half marathon in a week would be foolish. Sure, I’m physically capable of running 13.1 miles, but not as fast as I want. Slogging through a half marathon just for the sake of running another half marathon doesn’t interest me.

So I guess this is my first DNS (did not start), but I’m OK with that. The race only cost $15, and I’m more than happy  to wait for the Honeywagon Half in March. I know I’ll be ready to run a race I’m proud of and give that sub 1:50 a solid shot.

I also took the plunge and bought a year of unlimited hot yoga. Oh my goodness, I’m already so happy with this purchase. The more yoga I do, the more I love it, and I’m so excited to be able to do way more this year. My goal is to average at least four times a week during marathon training.

Here’s how my first week of training looked:

Monday: 75 minutes of power yoga
Tuesday:  1.14 mile warm up (8:44 pace) + 8×400 (6:57, 7:18, 7:20, 7:20, 7:09, 7:06, 6:58, 6:41) w/ 1-2 minute rest between intervals. 1.34 mile cooldown (8:53 pace) – 5 miles total. My legs felt springy, and I was grateful John encouraged me to get out of bed and get this run done before his parents came over for Christmas.
Wednesday: Slow 3 miles recovery run (32:30)
Thursday: 1 hour gentle power yoga
Friday: 1 hour power yoga + 6 mile tempo run. 1. 5 mile warm up and then three miles at progressively faster tempo paces (8:41, 8:27, 8:17), and then a slow cool down.
Saturday: 1 hour power yoga
Sunday: 11.25 miles – 1:49:24  (9:44 avg)

Totals: 25.25 miles and 4.25 hours of yoga

Happy New Year! I spent my New Year’s Eve with John eating pizza, watching movies, taking pictures of our kitties….and I fell asleep on the couch at 11:40 pm. Opps!

SleepyCammy

One thought on “Eugene Marathon Training: Week One

  1. Cammie looks like she didn’t quite make it to midnight either!!! Our New Year’s Eve sounds a lot like yours and John’s!! We watched Trouble With the Curve Ball. Enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

