2013 Goals

It’s that time of the year again! It’s time to make some resolutions goals. I don’t like resolutions, but I do love me some goals. Last year I made a lot of random goals and didn’t accomplish one. Opps, well I guess I read a little more, but not as much as I would like. I also came pretty dang close to a sub4 hour marathon. Regardless, 2012 was a fantastic year of running, and my biggest running highlight by far was shaving 18 minutes off my marathon PR.

Here are my top priorities for 2013:

1. Be in the best shape of my adult life on April 28, 2013, and run my first sub 4 hour marathon.

2. PR in every distance (5k, 10k, half marathon, marathon). Beyond PR’ing, I want to run a sub4 marathon (#1), sub 1:50 half marathon, sub 50 10k, and sub 23 5k.

3. Have fun!

4. Become a RRCA certified coach. There are two reasons I want to spend the time and money to do this. First, I’d love to help my friends, co-workers, etc. by giving them educated advice about their training (only if they ask– nothing is worse than unsolicited advice!). Second, learning the physiology behind running will help me become a stronger runner and avoid injuries.

5. Eat less meat and more vegetables. I can’t commit to being 100% vegetarian, because sometimes a steak really hits the spot. But I can commit to improving my diet by continuing to eat less dead animals and more disease-fighting leafy greens!

6. Teach John how to cook. I would like to teach John a few basics so he can cook dinner once (maybe twice) a week. Since my commute is now a little longer, the days that I run after work, I don’t get home until 7:30 or later. This means we’re eating dinner at 8 or 8:15, which is way too late! I’d like to get John to help on those days so that we eat dinner at a more reasonable time.

7. Complete a 30-day yoga challenge.

8. Talk less, listen more. I have a bad habit of interrupting people, and I’d like to work on that this year.

p.s. I decided to start training for Eugene two weeks early (I have zero patience and got sick of base building), so training officially started Monday! I’m using the same program I used last year for Vancouver, with a few modifications. Since I have the luxury of two extra weeks, my goal is to run four 20-mile training runs (I normally only run three), and I’d like to peak around 55-60 miles three weeks before the race. More on that later!

One thought on “2013 Goals

  1. If you accomplish Goal Number 3 I think all the rest of the goals will happen as a direct result ot that. Except Goal Number 6…? I too want to be “in the best shape of my adult life on April 28, 2013.” It will be “fun” to share that experience with you!

Leave a Reply

