2013 Rock ‘n’ Roll Seattle Marathon

Last night I registered for the Seattle Rock N Roll Marathon, which is on June 22 — two months after Eugene.

It’s funny how little thought I put into this decision. It all started when I saw a harmless Facebook post about a $20 discount for the race. $20 off? I can’t pass up that deal! I quickly scanned the elevation chart, and before I knew it, I was entering my CC digits and registering for the 2013 Seattle Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon.

There is a tiny shred of logic in this decision. Just a teeny tiny shred, but a shred nonetheless. I’m running Eugene on April 28. Eugene is my A race, and Seattle will be a just for fun type of run. One thing I hate about running marathons is that I tend to go from being in great shape on race day to being a lazy sloth a month later. I get lazy during recovery and lose a lot of fitness. By signing up for a marathon two months after Eugene, it will force me to be smart about recovery but also keep up my fitness and not go in sloth-mode.

Makes total sense, right? Just nod your head in agreement.

Yes, Boston is still a priority. And no, this doesn’t really fit into that plan. But Boston is going to take a long time, and if I solely focus on that, I’m going to miss out on a lot of fun things along the way. For 2013, if I want to run a race, I’m going to run it. If I want to be a little stupid and run this marathon two months post Eugene, then I’m going to do it.  I’ve been super cautious for the last two years and always followed traditional 16-week training plans. Now that I have more experience, I want to take more chances and open myself up for new experiences. This may lead to epic blow outs and miserable races, but I don’t want my fear of failure to hold me back from doing the things I want to do.

My friends Christina and Alison are also running this marathon! It will be their very first full marathon, and I’m excited to share this experience with them. I hope they love it as much as I do!

2 thoughts on “2013 Rock ‘n’ Roll Seattle Marathon

  1. “Whatever you can do, or dream you can do, begin it.
    Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it.
    Begin it now.”
    –Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (?)

    Your new plan may be foolish. It may end in disaster. It certainly is bold. Follow your intuition and inspirations and no matter how it works out, you will learn a whole lot about yourself. I applaud your enthusiasm and reckless extravagance.
    Hooyah!

Leave a Reply

