A Lot of Moving, Not a Lot of Running

Hi there! Yes, it’s been awhile. And I promise there’s a good reason for that. Honestly, I haven’t been running nearly as much as I would like. We moved into our new house two weeks ago, and it has totally consumed me.

Pardon the blurry picture (I’m an idiot and forgot to put my flash on), but here I am picking up my key!

Closing day!

Closing day!

I am OCD when it comes to how much I loathe clutter, so getting the house ready has been priority #1. I ran zero miles the week we moved, but I did make ample trips up and down our two sets of stairs. Having a three-story house is going to really suck the day after a marathon when nothing is more painful than going down stairs.

Our purple living room when we first moved in. Painting over this was also a priority!

Our purple living room when we first moved in. Painting over this with a more neutral color was a huge priority!

Our disaster of a bedroom when we first moved in.

Our disaster of a bedroom when we first moved in. I just can’t live like this! Don’t worry, we”re also going to paint this room.

Moving into our new house has made me realize how lucky John and I are to have family so close and so willing to help. John’s parents have helped a ton with cleaning, moving, packing, painting, hanging pictures on walls, etc., my dad came down and helped with heavy lifting and cleaning, John’s sister and mom spent 10 hours painting the day after Thanksgiving, and even John’s teenage nephews helped us move! We are so blessed and so thankful for everyone’s help and support. I can’t even imagine what a mess our house would still be if it weren’t for their help.

Thankfully, I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel and think we’re getting close to resuming our normal routines. This means a lot more running. Hooray! I have some crazy ambitious plans (which I’ll share with you soon) for 2013, so I need to get on it.

2 thoughts on “A Lot of Moving, Not a Lot of Running

  1. Did I ever tell you …?
    I am happy for you. And proud. You deserve all the good things in your life.
    Am I going to be able to keep up with you in 2013?

    Dad

  2. We are so blessed to have you and John near enough to be part of your lives. Thank you!! Your new home is in the early stages of loveliness!

Leave a Reply

