I Heart Couch

Confession time: I love our couch. Its soft micro fiber feels like heaven on my skin. It is soft, comfortable, and my only complaint is that I don’t get to spend enough time on it.

I’m a closet couch potato. Unfortunately, I’m also a 27-year-old girl who takes some pride in what she looks like (well, not all the time –I generally don’t wear much makeup, and I wear my hair in a ponytail more often than I should), but I like fitting in my clothes, which is why I drag my butt off the couch and go for runs and do yoga.

Lately the couch has been winning. Yes, I know I’m training for a marathon, but as I’ve alluded to in past entries, my heart isn’t 100% in this training cycle. And my love for the couch is winning over my hatred of cellulite and flabby triceps.

Despite my lack of motivation, I’m still excited to run Portland because it’s a great race. I ran it last year after an even crappier training cycle, and it was exactly what I needed to get my mind and body in gear to train for Vancouver. I’m hoping it will have the same effect on me this year, and I’ll emerge from the race determined to kick some Eugene butt in 2013. (I already registered for Eugene, which isn’t until the end of April. I blame my type-A planning tendencies for my obsessive need to register for races MONTHS before they happen).

In the meantime, I need to figure out how to get my lazy ass off the couch for the next four weeks.

When I was woken up this morning at 4:30 by the sound of our cat barfing in a mysterious location for the second night in a row, I decided that I should bring my running clothes to work and run along the waterfront immediately after work. I work in downtown just a few blocks from the gorgeous flat waterfront. How have I never thought of this before? I love running along the water AND I won’t get stuck on the couch. WIN WIN.

In terms of getting out and going for a run, my plan worked perfectly. I laced up and hit the roads, and it was splendid. Too bad I got really hungry half a mile into the run, and I ended up cutting my run short so I could chug chocolate milk and gobble up a banana. This run was only 50% successful (I ran three miles instead of six), but I think I’m on to something…

3 thoughts on “I Heart Couch

  1. Megan, I think you are awesome!!! I so enjoy reading your blog. It is a great way to know to keep learning about you as you keep learning about you:)

  2. Megan:

    50% is better than 0. Your plan really did work perfectly. Three miles may not be six miles, but you ran. Running happened. And you were there. It doesn’t matter if you “looked like a runner.” It doesn’t matter if you “felt like a runner.” Running happened. Maybe it is all just tricks. Keep tricking yourself into showing up for your life. Keep tricking yourself off the couch. Whatever it takes … be creative, be playful, be gentle with yourself. BUT DO IT!
    This last training cycle has been a challenge for me too. I’ve learned a lot of tricks. In fact, I have wondered if maybe I’ve done more tricking than training. But I’ve given myself a chance. Running has happened enough that I have had moments of joy, moments of surprise, moments when I just let go of all the doubts and insecurities, moments when I get just a glimpse of a larger truth, moments when all the energies of the universes are running through me and it is no longer just me running. I wish it happened more often. But if has happened enough that it becomes slightly easier to trick myself away from the tv and the chips for just one more run. One run at a time …
    No matter what, disaster or triumph, Portland is going to be profound!

    Dad

Leave a Reply

