It’s Marathon Week!

Omg omg, it’s marathon week! This post is scattered, so bare with me. There’s really only one takeaway from this post: it’s marathon week, and I am flippin’ excited.

I can hardly believe that in just a few days I will be at the start line of the Vancouver Marathon, strategically placed in front of the 4 hour pacer. I’ve dedicated the last 16 weeks to get to this point, and I’m excited to see what I’m capable of.

There is nothing I can do at this point to improve my fitness. But there are plenty of things I can do to negatively affect my performance. To stay out of this trap, I am getting lots of rest, eating super healthy, foam rolling/stretching every night, and drinking lots of water.

I reluctantly gave up gluten last Thursday. I was having a lot of stomach and digestive problems, and that’s something I don’t want to deal with on race day. Since giving up gluten, my stomach issues have ceased and I lost three pounds (water weight I assume) in just a few days. I feel lighter, less bloated, and have more energy. I don’t have Celiac disease, but my body obviously does not like gluten. Too bad my taste buds do….From an eating perspective, giving up gluten sucks. Marathoners like their bread!

I’ve been stalking the Vancouver weather forecast and it looks like it will be a great day to run a marathon. As long as there is no wind, I will be a very happy camper!

Our Top Pot pictures were released today. This is right at the end when I was pretty dang tired and afraid of falling on my face (not because it would hurt, but because it would make me lose time).

Trying not to trip on my face…

Happy Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “It’s Marathon Week!

  1. I’ll be cheering for you from afar!!!! If there is any wind at all—may it be at your back!

  2. I love the picture of you finishing the 5K. You look strong, focused, committed. You look like a highly trained athlete. You look like a Runner! You look ready to run a 3:59 marathon. Sweet baby Jesus–I pray that I can keep up with you.

    Dad

Leave a Reply

