Beating Taper Crazies

I quickly snapped out of my bad attitude Friday evening when John proposed! Taper blues and insecurities went out the window when I came home to candles, flowers, a nice bottle of champagne, and a proposal. As much as I’ve thought about this moment for the last few years, I was totally awkward when it happened. I was in shock and apparently shock makes me revert to my turtleneck-wearing, acne and braces awkward high school self.

High School Graduation

Once I stopped being awkward, I obviously said yes!

To celebrate, we went to Joey’s for dinner. Joey’s is where we went on our first date, and I ordered the same thing I had four years ago: grilled salmon with crispy mashed potatoes. It was fun going back to where it all started and where John claims I said, “So we’re dating, right?” even though I know for a fact that conversation happened later. We are going to be 80 years old and still not agree when that conversation happened. I should also note that Joey’s has changed a lot since our first date. Probably won’t be going back there for dinner…

Dinner at Joey’s

We continued the evening by getting a drink where we met – the ever so classy Red Door in Fremont. We rarely go to Red Door (not exactly our scene anymore), so it was fun to go back.

After Red Door, we went home, changed into sweats, and watched a movie while drinking the rest of the champagne. It was the perfect evening.

I woke up on Saturday still in disbelief about the shiny new ring on my finger and a headache. Apparently even expensive champagne gives you a headache.

Sunday was the Top Pot 5K, and I treated it like a dress rehearsal for the marathon. I wanted a good run. I needed a good run. I was out the door at 7am and drove to Greenlake. I ran one loop around the lake (3 miles in 26:35) as a warm up and to see how my legs felt. They felt OK, but my breathing was a little off.

After my warm-up, I went back to my car to eat a banana and kill 20 minutes by taking pictures of and staring at my ring. That’s totally normal, right? Look how sparkly it is!

The race started and I tried to find my pace. I went out a little fast and saw my time dip to 7 and then 6:56. I told myself to slow down or I was going to blow up by mile 2. My race plan was to ease into it and run each mile faster than the previous one. My plan worked and I ran an awesome, smart race and finished in 23:54, more than exceeding my A goal and beating my previous PR by 90 seconds.

I surprised myself on this race, and I hope I can surprise myself again on Sunday.

Mile splits and recap:

Mile 1: 7:42 – I felt mentally and physically strong and tried to hold back a little.
Mile 2: 7:35 – I still felt pretty good, but my breathing started to become uncomfortable.
Mile 3: 7:30 – My legs felt like jello and I felt like I was going to puke. I told myself to hold onto my pace and that it was supposed to hurt – that meant I was pushing myself to do the best I could.
Last .17: 6:54 – I have no idea how I did this. We had to run through lumpy grass to get to the finish, and I thought I had slowed down. Guess not!

According to my Garmin, I ran 3.17 in 23:56. According to the Chip, I ran it in 23:54, good enough for 14th in my age group and 158th overall out of 1,600 finishers.

I came home and was so pumped that I decided to run another two miles to bring my daily mileage to 8.17. All I could think about was how much I love to run and how excited I am that I get to run 26.2 miles in a week.

I’m really happy I decided to run this 5k. It proved that I’ve worked hard this training cycle and I am faster, fitter, and ready to break 4 hours on May 6. According to the race pace calculator, this 5k times has a predicted marathon time of 3:48. Going for a 3:48 would be foolish based on my training, but it makes me hopeful that sub 4 is possible. Sub 4 or bust!!

This was hands down the best weekend of my life, and I’m so thankful for everyone and everything in my life. I’m obviously most thankful for John (my fiance! It’s still weird to say that) for loving me not only at my best, but also at my worst. I’d like to think I’m a pretty level-headed person and am usually easy to be around, but I’m not perfect. I’ve had breakdowns and crazy moments, and John has stood by me through it all. I’ve changed and grown a lot in the last four years, and John has helped me become a better, more compassionate person. I doubt I would have had the courage to start running marathons if it weren’t for John.

I love my honey bunny! ….even if this is what my Facebook looked like when we made it Facebook official:

One thought on “Beating Taper Crazies

  1. It makes me happy to see you so happy. You are loved. And you love with all your heart. That is pretty solid ground to run on.

    Congratulations!
    Dad

Leave a Reply

