A Good Week: Week 6 Recap

Ahh, after a rough week 5, I needed a solid week of hard training. And I got it last week. I dropped back my mileage, but I’m really happy with my three quality runs and cross training.

Monday: 1 hour yoga + 1 hour spin. Monday was a rough day. I was incredibly tired and the fact that John had the day off for President’s day made it worse. It was a looong day at work.

Tuesday: Yoga. I was exhausted on Monday, so I decided to skip yoga to get some extra sleep. I did kick butt on my speed session though. The plan called for 5 x 1,200, but I switched it up a bit:

1 – 1,600 (7:40 min/mile) 1 – 1,200 (7:40 min/mile) 1 – 1,600 (7:40 min/mile) 2 x 800 (7:40 min/mile)

6 miles total

Wednesday: 1 hour spin
I woke up with a funky sore throat. I cannot afford to get sick right now! I drank some Emergen-C in the morning, took my multi-vitamin, and ate a kiwi and oranges at work.

Thursday: 8 mile tempo run

Friday: 1 hour yoga

Saturday: 17.15 miles (3:04:47)
My alarm went off at 7 and I was out the door shortly after 8. I drove to Discovery Park with just a loose idea of where exactly I would run. I’ve only run through Discovery Park once and walked once (totally shameful – it’s a great place to run), so I thought I could explore the trails a bit and then run along Magnolia Boulevard. I had no set plans – just that I was going to run 17 miles.

I’m not an adventurous person when it comes to training runs. I run the same routes over and over again, similar to how I like to watch the same movies and order the same dishes at restaurants. I’m very risk-adverse in running and in life.

However, I’ve grown tired of my normal running routes in the city. I’m sick of waiting at stop lights, and I need to incorporate more rolling hills into my runs. I occasionally run hills, but most of my runs are very flat with just a couple short hills. I want to incorporate more hills to build strength.

I started my run and my hands were freezing. They were literally painfully cold. After only a mile, I circled back to my car and got my gloves. My hands felt better within a few minutes and I was able to focus on the run.

I ran through the park, which was great and there were lots of rolling hills. Unlike my other training runs, I wasn’t concerned with pace. I knew it was going to be a hilly, challenging run, so my only goal was to run 17 miles and keep my breathing under control.

I eventually made my way out of the park and I ran along Magnolia Boulevard until I got to the Magnolia bridge. I turned around and headed back to the park where I made two more loops.

It was an awesome run and a great way to finish the week.

Sunday: Rest

Total: 31.15 miles

3 thoughts on “A Good Week: Week 6 Recap

  1. Bravo! You are my hero. My teacher. Keep running and keep mixing it up. There is no way to avoid risk. So … as you learned, as you teach me, open yourself up to the risk, the danger, the next new moment.

    A Zen parable: A man walking across a field encountered a tiger. He fled, the tiger chasing after him. Coming to a cliff, he caught hold of a wild vine and swung himself over the edge. The tiger sniffed at him from above. Terrified, the man looked down to where, far below, another tiger ham come, waiting to eat him. Two mice, one black and one white, little by little began to gnaw away at the vine. The man saw a luscious strawberry near him. Grasping the vine with one hand, he plucked the strawberry with the oither. How sweet it tasted!

  2. Thanks, Dad. I have a few other routes (and trails) I want to explore. I live in a beautiful city and it’s time to start taking advantage of it!

    What happens to the guy after he eats the strawberry?? 🙂

  3. In ancient times, upon hearing your question, an old Zen Master might strike you with a stick. Or, she might “answer” your question with another story:
    “It is like a man up in a tree hanging from a branch with his mouth; his hands grasp no bough, his feet rest on no limb. Someone appears under the tree and asks him, “What is the meaning of …?” If he does not answer, he fails to respond to the question. If he does answer, he will lose his life. What would YOU do in such a situation?”
    No Zen Master, I ask you: “When you reach that point in a marathon when you cannot possibly take one more step, what happens next?”
    This is not a Pass/Fail test. But it is the beat, beat, beat of our heart; it is the dream, dream, dream of our life; it is …

Leave a Reply

