Morning Running

I am normally an evening runner, but due to my schedule, I dragged my butt out of bed yesterday morning and ran 8 miles before work. And guess what? I kinda liked it.

The alarm went off at 5:30. After eating some oatmeal and half a banana, I was out the door at 6. I saw some people walking/running/biking, which made me feel a little more comfortable. But I was definitely very aware of my surroundings, and I was mentally prepared to kick some guy in the balls and scream Bloody Mary if necessary.

Thankfully, it wasn’t necessary.

I listened to my iPod the entire run, but I had it at a pretty low volume and only in one ear for the first 4 miles. I wanted to be aware of what was going on around me and not zoned out. After mile 4 when it was pretty light and there were lots of non-creeps out, I put in my other bud and cranked up the volume. It immediately felt good not to hear my heavy breathing.

It was a tough, labored run.  I was a little discouraged at first and was cranky that my pace felt so difficult. Then I reminded myself that it was supposed to be hard. It was supposed to be uncomfortable. That’s the whole point of a tempo run! My schedule called for five miles at mid tempo pace. I was a little slower on some of these miles (8:46, 8:44, 8:46, 8:58, 8:37), but it was the best I could do that day. The entire run took 1:11 and some change.

I don’t think I’ll ever totally convert to be a morning runner, but I do see some great benefits in it. For one, it’s nice to have your run done before work. Second, I had all day to stretch my legs and recover. I sit at a desk at work, but I do make frequent trips to the restroom and water jug (direct correlation between the two). When I run at night, I only have a few hours to move my legs before I go to sleep. Lastly, it makes me commit to the run. If I drag my butt out of bed at 5:30 a.m., you better believe I’m getting that run done.

Happy Friday! I have a 17 miler on my schedule for tomorrow.

71 days until Vancouver!

4 thoughts on “Morning Running

  1. Once again: How in God’s name am I going to keep up with you?! You are truly forcing me to take this adventure seriously. Thank you. Our lives are meant to be embraced enthusiastically. Who could have imagined that we’d both be chasing the same White Whale through the streets and trails and darknesses of our own deep sea dreams…?

  2. Pingback: A Good Week: Week 6 Recap « Megan's Miles

Leave a Reply

