Happy Friday!

Happy Friday! It’s a bright, sun-shining day in Seattle.

Taken from Greater Seattle Business Association

I ran 7 miles last night. It was supposed to be a tempo run, but my legs were still stiff from my speed session on Tuesday. I eased into the run and gave myself two miles to warm up. I tried to crank up the speed after my warm-up, but my legs just weren’t having it. My average pace for the run was 9:25 — slower than my goal marathon pace and definitely not tempo pace. Looking on the bright side, it was better than last week’s tempo run and my breathing was nice and easy.

So…what’s going on with my legs? Why are they always so sore after speed sessions? I speculate it’s partly because I do my speed sessions on the treadmill at the gym and don’t eat until I get home, which means I miss that critical 30-minute window to refuel with carbs and protein. When I run outside, I always have a glass of chocolate milk within 15 minutes of finishing my run.

To test this theory, I’m going to bring Muscle Milk to the gym on Tuesday so I can drink it shortly after my run. Yep, I’m going to be one of those gym rats that I mock – the ones sucking down protein shakes and bragging about how much they can bench press.

I’m happy it’s Friday and am looking forward to this weekend. It’s supposed to be sunny and in the 50s all weekend, which will be perfect for running. Dad is coming to Seattle tomorrow for our 13 mile run, and I plan to run 6 easy/slow miles Sunday morning before I stuff my face with Superbowl food. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

