Week Two on the Ranch

If you’ve ever watched the Biggest Loser, you know that contestants generally a lot of weight the first week and often have a bad second week. Let’s clarify – if a contestant only loses a couple pounds, it’s considered a “bad week.”

Well, I can now relate to the second week slump. Last week started out with a rough speed session on Tuesday and proceeded to an epic failure of a tempo run on Thursday (average pace around 10 min/miles – definitely not tempo pace). Thankfully, I had some redemption over the weekend. I felt strong during my 12 miler on Saturday and enjoyed my easy 6 mile run on Sunday.

I started reading a book Dad gave me for Christmas, Mastery, which demonstrates how the process of mastery can help you attain long-term satisfaction and fulfillment. On the road to mastery, there will be ups, downs and plateaus. It’s all part of the journey, but if I stick with it and work hard, I know I’ll get there eventually.

Week Recap:

Monday: 1 hour yoga
Tuesday: 1 hour yoga + speed session (it was supposed to be 4 x 1,200 at 7:30/7:40 pace, but my legs felt like crap so I had to slow my pace and take extra breaks) – 5 miles
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: 1 hour yoga + “tempo” run – 6.2 miles
Friday: 1 hour yoga
Saturday: 12 miles at 9:25/pace
Sunday: Easy 6.2

Total: 29.4 miles

Leave a Reply

