Week 1 of Marathon Training: An Ode to Kelly Clarkson

My first week didn’t go totally plan due to a snow/ice storm that hit the Pacific Northwest. Thankfully, I was still able to go to the gym, which means that four of my five runs were on the treadmill. I don’t mind the treadmill for speed sessions and easy runs, but tempo runs on the treadmill are tough. I had a mini panic attack before cranking up the speed for my tempo run, but I got through it.

The snow made getting to morning yoga impossible (my yoga studio is at the top of Queen Anne), so I’m looking forward to lots of yoga this week to stretch and strengthen my core. I didn’t do any core work last week, and I can feel my baby ab muscles already shriveling away. I know that I can (and should) do core work on my own. But I’m pretty lazy when it comes to stuff like that, which is why I go to yoga – it forces me to work on my weaknesses!

I’ve recently decided that I need to ween myself off listening to music when I run. Not for every run, but since I run in the evening by myself in the dark, zoning out to music isn’t safe. However, music is critical on the treadmill. I  listened to Kelly Clarkson’s new song “Stronger” a bazillion times last week. It has a good beat and although it’s about breaking up with a guy, I reinterpret it to be about running. Long distance running is incredibly humbling and can sometimes beat you down. But each hard running experience has the potential to teach you something and to make you a stronger runner. According to wise Kelly, What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger/stand a little taller/What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter/Footsteps even lighter. Amen, sister.

Week Recap:

Monday: 8 x 400 at 7:30 pace (4 miles total)
Tuesday: Easy 3
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: Tempo run with 3 miles at 8:20 pace (5 miles total)
Friday: Easy 3
Saturday: Rest
Sunday: 1o in the rain (9:25 pace) – My pace was all over the place for this run (8:50-9:45). Eek. Need to work on that during future runs.

Total: 25.5 miles

Leave a Reply

