Magnuson Series 10k

I ran the Magnuson Series 10k on Saturday. It was windy, cold and raining – not ideal weather conditions. I acknowledged the bad weather and the fact that my legs likely weren’t totally recovered from the half marathon, but I kept an open, optimistic mind. I really wanted a PR, but I knew that it may not happen.

I knew that in order to set a PR, running the tangents would be critical. I ran this course last month, so I was mentally prepared for all the curves, turns and a couple hills.

Within a mile, I realized my legs felt pretty good. I was very focused, more focused than I’ve ever been for a race.  I looked ahead at each curve to determine the shortest path. I focused on my form, making sure my back was straight and I was taking short, efficient steps.  I paid attention to my Garmin, both my pace and how my mileage lined up to the mile markers.  I did not want to run farther than 6.2 miles.

Unlike the Lake Samish Half, my Inner B stayed quiet throughout the race. I was a happy runner, determined to set a new PR.

At the halfway point, I was right around 25:30. I knew I could PR; I just needed to hold on. I concentrated on the course and monitored my pace/effort level. Miles four and five were a little challenging, due to the hills. At mile five, I caught up to a guy who had been holding a 50-foot lead throughout the race. I followed Dad’s advice and stayed right on his tail for a few minutes. Once I saw the mile 5 marker, I decided to go for it. I passed him and tried to create a big enough gap so that he couldn’t just pass me again.I pushed it to the end and that mile ended up being my fastest of the race. I finished in 51:51,  a PR by more than a minute. According to my Garmin, I ran 6.21 miles, which means I did an awesome job navigating the tangents (last time I ran 6.28). After having such a bad race last week, this PR felt especially sweet.

Here are my mile breakdowns:

Mile 1: 8:27 min/mile
Mile 2: 8:21 min/mile
Mile 3: 8:15 min/mile
Mile 4: 8:33 min/mile
Mile 5: 8:31 min/mile
Mile 6: 8:13 min/mile
Last .2: 7:25 min mile:

Average Pace: 8:21 min/mile

This race was a perfect segue into marathon training, which starts TODAY! I’m beyond excited to start this cycle. Dad and I are starting this cycle in better shape than when we started Portland or Vancouver. We’ve gained speed and lost weight (six pounds for me, not sure how many for dad). We’re both motivated and excited to take on this challenge and to work toward our goal, which is to finish Vancouver under four hours. Sub four hours is a big goal (21+ minutes faster than my PR), but I think it’s possible if we train our butts off and avoid sickness/injury.

2 thoughts on “Magnuson Series 10k

  1. I continue to be amazed by you!!!

    Also, when I saw you later that day, I totally forgot to ask you about your race—my bad!!!

Leave a Reply

