Registered for Vancouver Marathon 2012

Dad and I are now officially  registered for the 2012 Vancouver Marathon! Training will start the week after the Lake Samish Half Marathon, and I’m really excited to start a new training cycle.

I need to spend the next few weeks fine tuning my plan, but my basic strategy is to follow the FIRST plan. We followed a really ambitious version of this plan for Portland, which proved to be detrimental. However, I found a much more realistic version of this plan on Runner’s World. It’s harder than our training plan was for Vancouver 2011, but easier than Portland. I think it will be juuust right.

The plan stresses three quality run a week (speed, tempo, long) with two cross training days.  I’m going to change it up a bit and sub out one cross training day for one “fun run.” I’ve found that training can become monotonous, because every run has prescribed paces and distances. So, to keep the spice and magic alive, I’m going to institute one “fun run” a week that will vary in distance and speed based on how I’m feeling. It’ll be like date night for my running relationship. Maybe I’ll even shave my legs…

In addition to running, my goal is take three yoga classes a week and strength train at least once a week. And I need to remember to work on my weak hip flexors!! Our goal is to finish under 4 hours. It’s a big but doable goal, which will require a lot of hard work and dedication. I’m excited to take on this challenge and start training next month!

One thought on “Registered for Vancouver Marathon 2012

  1. We will be ready to RUN! I am excited to be on this team with you. In order to “allow for the possibility of limitless expansion,” one must be willing to reach beyond perceived barriers. The novelist Willa Cather once wrote: “How wonderfull–to dissolve into something so great.” And, on a card my Mom once sent me; “Achievement lies within the reach of those who reach beyond themselves.”
    I know that it is “just a run,” but there is a lot more going on here than running. Whatever happens, I am proud to be chasing the White Whale with you. No lolligagging allowed–but a little skylarking is to be savored

    Dad

Leave a Reply

