Big Dreams

My big dream is to qualify for Boston.

Qualifying for Boston is a huge goal: I need to shave about 50 minutes from my PR to qualify. And, even if I qualify, that doesn’t even mean I could actually run it, but that’s a different story.

Shaving 50 minutes off my PR sounds totally ridiculous. It is. And I think that’s why I like the goal. It’s a huge goal and it’s going to take year(s) of consistent hard-work and training. There will be failures and triumphs. There will be pain, pleasure, and moments of clarity. It’s going to take a lot of dedication and sacrifices, as I have little natural talent or speed. So…why the heck do I want to do this?

– Running fast is fun.
– Being fit is fun.
– Setting a big goal and actually accomplishing it is even more fun.
– Because I think I can.

If I can pull this off, this will be one of my proudest accomplishments (rivaling my first and only perfect 4.0 GPA in high school – I worked my butt off that semester!).

Boston has a special place in my heart, as it was my dad’s big dream throughout most of my adolescence. He came painfully close, but missed the time cut-off by just a minute. I remember going to all of my dad’s marathons and being incredibly proud of him.

This is going to take a lot of time and baby steps as my body learns to run faster. My first baby step? Finishing the Lake Samish Half in under 1:55. The next step? Finishing Vancouver in under 4 hours, which would be a HUGE milestone and accomplishment in itself. My plan is to be patient, to work hard, and to keep pushing myself to be faster and stronger. And even if I never qualify for Boston, I will have the pleasure of knowing that I pushed myself to be the best runner I could be. So it’s really a win/win situation!

Wish me/us luck!

One thought on “Big Dreams

Leave a Reply

