29 days to go…

The last few weeks have been really hard for me.  Up until this point, I have flown through training and have truly enjoyed the process. I have enjoyed the progression of training and seeing improvements in my strength, speed, and endurance. I’m a little annoyed that I haven’t lost any weight (I have in fact gained one pound), but weight loss was never a goal and I eat a lot, so I guess I shouldn’t really complain. Now, with just 29 day to go until the big day, I am beginning to freak out. The pain and the challenge is becoming incredibly real. I have spent the last year working to get to this point, and now it is almost here.

I saw a quote on the Vancouver Marathon’s Facebook wall a few weeks ago that speaks to me at this time:

“The more you frame the marathon as a stressful experience, the more negative messages you’ll receive. But it’s just as easy to frame it as a positively challenging journey.” Jeff Galloway, Marathon.

I may not be totally in control of how my body performs on any given day, but I am capable of controlling my attitude. Up until now, I have been incredibly enthusiastic and excited. I have pictured myself crossing the finish line and have tried to imagine what it will feel like.  I’ve been excited and proud to share with friends and family that I am running a marathon. Most people never even dream of running a marathon and I am running my very first one in just 29 short days.

I think it’s normal to feel scared and anxious before running a marathon (especially the first). I’m about to attempt something that I’ve never done before. I could get injured. I could get sick. I could fail. I’m afraid of failure and avoid it all costs, which is why I have worked so hard to prepare for this marathon. I have done the work, and I am going to do whatever it takes to cross that finish line.

I know that the next 29 days are going to fly by and soon I’ll be at the start line of the Vancouver Marathon, anxiously waiting to start. I’m really scared, but mixed in with that fear is a lot of excitement and pride. A year ago, I could barely run 3 miles at a 10 min/mile pace, and in just a few weeks, I am going to run 26.2 miles at 9:35 min/mile pace (hopefully). I’ve worked hard, and I’m going to push myself to conquer my fears so I can enjoy the remainder of my training and the overall marathon experience. After all, I only get to run my first marathon once!

One thought on “29 days to go…

  1. Good entry, Megan. Yes, this is scary. Only a knucklehead would pretend that she wasn’t afraid. Accept it. Embrace it. One mile at a time, we will run right through this fear and watch it change into something else. What a lesson this all is! Your first marathon–I feel so blessed to be sharing this quest with you.
    Bring your rain gear and your mud shoes: we are going back up on the mountain one more time!

    Dad

Leave a Reply

