Week 8 of Training (Feb 21-27)

One of my goals for this marathon is to celebrate and enjoy the small victories during the training journey and not just focus on the marathon itself. It’s like that stupid Miley Cyrus song, “Ain’t about how fast I get there/ Ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side/ It’s the climb, yeah!” Focusing not just on the destination but also the “climb” is hard because I’m so unbelievably excited to run this marathon. I’m more excited for this run than I am for Christmas, my birthday, vacation (well, maybe not vacation…), etc. In the spirit of celebrating the climb, today I am celebrating that I logged 100 miles this month, which is the most I’ve run in one month in my entire life. Yay for a new milestone!

Monday – Light 40 minute cross training

Tuesday – 6.2 miles (59:40)
As I mentioned in last week’s post, I am so sick of running on the treadmill, but I don’t like running outside in the dark by myself. As a solution, I have decided to informally join the Seattle Anti Freeze Running Group. One of the runs that the group does is every Tuesday at 6:30 and is a loop around Lake Union. My friend, Katie, runs with this group on a fairly regular basis, so we planned to run it together. Katie was running a bit late Tuesday evening, so I told the running group to start without us (it was cold and rainy, and I  felt bad making them wait). Katie arrived a couple minutes after they left and we did the run together. I had never run with Katie before, so I was a bit worried when we started the run because I felt like she was sprinting. All I could think was, oh crap, how am I going to keep up? Luckily we slowed down after about five minutes (once we realized we couldn’t catch up with the group) and ran the rest of it at a more reasonable pace. 

Wednesday – Spin Class 1 Hour

Thursday – REST/networking event

Friday – Speed Session on Treadmill
I was a little nervous for this run because I’ve been having issues with a toe on my right foot. It has become swollen, which has caused it to rub on my shoes/toes and caused blisters. On Friday morning, I woke up with a big blister on the bottom of my toe and it hurt to walk. But once I changed out of my work shoes and into my running shoes (which have a lot more room for my toes), I felt OK.  After a mile or two on the treadmill, I couldn’t even feel it. I felt really strong during this speed session, so I’m glad I didn’t skip it!

1 mile  (10/mile)
6 x 800 (8:30/mile with 2 minute rest between each set)
1 x 1600 (8:30/mile)
1 mile (9:20/mile)

Total: 6.5

Saturday – REST

Sunday – 11 miles (1:42)
Despite adding the  Glee version of Don’t Stop Believing to my running play list, this was not a fun run. The weather was terrible – rainy and really windy. The rain didn’t bother me, but the wind was brutal. It didn’t matter which way I was facing, the wind was always blowing against me. I also chose to run a course that had a few hills, which were OK for the most part, except for the hill going from U Village to Ravenna. I felt like a sissy as I ran/walked my way up the hill.  .

Total: 23.7
Cross Training: 2 hours

3 thoughts on “Week 8 of Training (Feb 21-27)

  1. You know you are a long-distance runner when …

    Am I really a long-distance runner?
    If I think about it too much, which I do, I vacillate between the North and South Poles of Faith and Doubt. Doubt says: I’m not a real runner. I’m not fast enough, not good enough. Faith says: Just run. Take the first stride and see what happens.
    Fortunately, faith is a muscle that can be strengthened with patient practice. When negative self-talk fills one’s head (I’m no good, I’m slow, I’m lazy, I’m old …), choose to do the brave thing. Take the first step: Run!
    If this is done, one day at a time, faith gets stronger and doubt becomes less of a prison.
    Yesterday, yet again, I experienced the miracle of that empowering moment. Running with my little girl, mile after mile on t he open road, mountains high and huge in the distance, cows in the fields, swans in the sky–suddenly it all got so serious. I got tired, really tired. Mile nine, mile ten … I’m not really a runner, I’m not gonna make it, this is so embarrassing, she’s running away from me. Doubt. Have faith, old man, keep moving forward–
    Then we are running together, side by side, father and daughter. There is the finish line–thank God! And we are really running. We’re sprinting! For a few precious moments, there is no room for doubt; and faith is unnecessary:
    Long-distance running is happening through us.
    And we are right there with it, inseparable, embraced by the agony and the joy of it all.
    It is a small victory.

  2. I love to run because …
    I hate to run. Running is hard. It’s meanspirited.
    Life is easier on the couch, TV on, ice cream in my bowl. But, alas, I discover who I am when I am running alone on a mountain trail. I discover who I am when I am anonymous in a river of marathon runners. I disover who I am when I am digging deep into this old man’s heart to close the gap between me and my fleet-footed daughter. Even when I dread it, even when I am afraid and dying because of it, I love running because nothing else is quite so merciless in stripping away all the old illusions of who and what I think I am. I love to run because running reveals the depths and heights of my soul.

    • Running is hard and unforgiving. As I’m learning, you never know what to expect – some days you have it and some days you don’t. The bad runs — when running seems impossible and a marathons sounds like a terrible goal — make me appreciate the good runs when it feels natural, effortless and easy.

Leave a Reply

