Week 4 of Training – I’m not a “3 mile kind of runner”

Monday: REST/Lazy
I was supposed to take spin class on Monday, but I was tired and needed to get stuff done around the house. I’ve been dedicated to my training so I gave myself a “get out of jail free card” for this workout. It felt great. 🙂

Tuesday: 3 miles on treadmill (29 minutes)

Wednesday: Speed session on treadmill

1 mile  (10 min/mile)
6 x 800 at 8:30 min/mile pace with 2 minute rest between each set
1 mile (9:30 min/mile)

Total: 5.5 (including rests)

I switched up my training plan a little for this workout. I was supposed to do 12 x 400, but I decided to challenge myself and do 6 x 800. It was hard!

Thursday: 1 mile on treadmill + 20 minutes on elliptical
I had planned to do 3 miles on the treadmill, but I felt really terrible. My legs were sore from my speed session, and my arches and calves just really hurt. I was originally going to just power through the pain and discomfort, but decided that I would be better off to just go on the elliptical. I’m not sure why, but I really hate these three mile runs. They are always my worst runs of the week and are the runs that make me question the sanity of my goal to run 26.2 miles. If I can barely run 3 miles, how am I going to run 26.2 miles? After feeling like this countless times, I’ve decided that I’m just not a 3 mile kind of runner.

Friday: Spin Class – 1 hour

Saturday: REST

Sunday: 13.2 miles in 2:20
Prior to my run, I went to Road Runner’s to get new running shoes and use my 25% discount that expires at the end of the month. $200 later, and I have new Asics, custom insoles and running socks. Running is not a cheap hobby! I know that you’re not supposed to break in new shoes during a long run, but my new shoes are the same brand and model as my old shoes, so I bent the rule and it worked out fine.

My dad came to Seattle to do this run with me. We ran from my place around the south part of Lake Union, to Eastlake, to the Burke Gilman Trail, through UW campus (via Burke Gilman trail), up Ravenna, to and around Greenlake, South on Stone Avenue Way, East on Burke Gilman, to Gasworks, then headed backed on the Burke Gilman Trail, to Westlake and home. It was a pretty challenging run that incorporated a few hills (big and small) and we ran it at a faster pace than our 11 miler last weekend. Our end time doesn’t  reflect the faster pace since we had to wait at several stoplights and we had to walk quite a bit for the last two miles.

I felt pretty good throughout the run. My legs and hips felt a little tight for the second half, but nothing unbearable. My dad, on the other hand, hit the dreaded wall around mile 11.  He said that he felt dizzy and hungry – not a good combo when you’re running 13 miles. Thankfully, he had packed an extra GU and ate it at mile 12. Within a few minutes, he said that he felt much better and we were able to run/walk the final mile. Lesson learned: avoid the wall (when possible) by refueling PRIOR to hitting the wall. Feeling dizzy/lightheaded is a sign that you’re running on empty, so it’s important to eat some calories ASAP.

After the run, we had smoothies, stretched and took Ibuprofen. After making dinner, I became good friends with the couch while I watched the UW vs WSU basketball game (painful to watch) and attempted to study for the GMAT.

Total: 22.7

Cross Training: 1 hour

Leave a Reply

