Second Week of Training (January 10-16)

Week 2 was a little unusual because I spent the weekend in Las Vegas for a friend’s bachelorette party. I’m usually not very good at exercising when I travel, so I wanted to get my two key runs (speed session and long run) in during the week.

Monday:  3.1 miles in 30 minutes.

I had planned to go to spin class after work, but it was full by the time I called. Lame!  I use different shoes for spin than I do for running, so I had to go home to run. It was really cold  (it had snowed in the morning) and I was not psyched about running outside. I’m a wuss when it comes to cold weather, so I bundled up for my run — two pairs of pants, three long sleeve running shirts (two of which are pretty thick), a vest, gloves and ear-warmers. All the layers made me look like a purple and white marshmallow, but I stayed toasty warm during my run! My legs were still sore from last week, and I felt pathetic and slow. I stretched after my run and iced my quads in hopes of reducing soreness to prepare for  Tuesday’s run.

Tuesday: 9 miles on treadmill in 1:35

I normally do my long runs on the weekend, but I will be in Las Vegas this weekend so I had to modify my running schedule. Since it’s dark by the time I get off work, I thought it would be safest to do my long run on a treadmill. I’m not a fan of treadmills, but it was surprisingly not bad. I was running slow enough to be able to read a magazine, so the time went by pretty quickly.

Wednesday: Spin Class – 1 hour

Thursday: Speed Session

1 mile warm up (1o min/mile)

8 x 400 at 8-8:20/min mile

1 mile (9:30 min/mile)

Total: 4.5 miles (including walking/resting between speed sessions)

Friday: REST/VEGAS!

Saturday =3.2 miles on the strip

Christina, Alison and I ran from our hotel (Monte Carlo) to Treasure Island and then came back on the opposite side of the street. I had never run on the strip before, and I felt like I was in Frogger – constantly darting and weaving around crowds of people. Everyone looked at us like we were crazy (how dare we exercise in Vegas?!), but it was a really fun, slow run.  And the weather was gorgeous – 65 degrees and sunny. We loved all of the vitamin D!

Sunday: REST

Total: 19.8 miles

Cross training: 1 hour

Leave a Reply

