First Week of Training (January 3-9)

My first week of training went great! I started taking vitamins (multi-vitamin, calcium and vitamin D) on Tuesday and have noticed a dramatic improvement in my mood and energy.  I’ve had no energy the last few weeks and have been constantly exhausted. But thanks to vitamin D, I feel a trillion times better – I’m a whole new woman, ready to take on marathon training and the GMAT (taking the test on Feb 12).

I  ran on the treadmill for the first time in a few months.  I still think the treadmill is boring, but it is nice to feel totally safe while I run. I have to run in the dark for my mid-week runs, and even though I only run in well-lit and safe areas, there is still a part of me that worries that I’m going to get murdered or hit by a car.

Monday:  Spin class: 1 hour.

Tuesday: Speed session on treadmill:

1 mile (10 min/mile)
6 x 400 (8-8:30/min mile with one minute rest between each set)
1 mile (10 min.mile)
+George’s ab class (25 minutes)

Total: 4 miles

Wednesday: 3.1 miles (29:20).

Thursday: 3 miles on treadmill (30 minutes) + George’s ab class (25 minutes)

Friday: Spin class: 1 hour

Saturday: 7 miles (1:11)
I don’t know how many times I need to make this mistake before I learn my lesson, but an egg sandwich (like the one you get at Starbucks or McDonalds, but I make it at home without sausage) is a terrible pre-run meal! I ate it two hours before my run, and I still felt  full and bloated when it was time to go. I need to stick to toast and bananas before my runs. No more eggs!

I ran around the south end of Lake Union, through Eastlake, to the Burke Gilman trail, then headed east for about a half mile toward UW campus,  then turned around and took the Burke Gilman to Fremont, crossed the bridge and took Westlake home. It’s a pretty easy run that I’ve done many times, but I didn’t feel very perky.

After my run, I was complaining about being sore and John said to me, “Why are you so sore? You only ran seven miles.” This is coming from someone who refuses to run the St. Patrick’s Day 5k with me because three miles is “too far” to run. What a punk!

Sunday: REST

Total Miles: 17.1

Cross Training: 3 hours

Leave a Reply

